Monday, December 3, 2012

MetaMetrics Sets Company Record for Most Publishers Signed On per Quarter

DURHAM, N.C.--MetaMetrics®, developer of the widely adopted Lexile® Framework for Reading, is pleased to announce that 21 new publishing partners signed on to provide Lexile® measures for their titles. From both domestic and international book publishers to classroom instructional content and reading passage banks developers, a variety of publishing companies are measuring their texts to add a reliable reading metric to their content in attempts to improve reading globally. Among these new publishers are:

U.S. Book Publishers:
Hothouse Fiction (www.hothousefiction.com)
Kids Can Press (www.kidscanpress.com)
Fishing Kids, LLC (www.fishingkids.com)
Star Bright Books (www.starbrightbooks.org)
Eerdmans Books for Young Readers (www.eerdmans.com)
Jolly Fish Press (www.jollyfishpress.com)
Barefoot Books (www.barefootbooks.com)
The Great Books Foundation (www.greatbooks.org)
ZOVA Books (www.zovabooks.com)
Free Spirit Publishing (www.freespirit.com)
ABDO (www.abdopub.com)
Rafka Press (www.rafkapress.com)
Middleton Books (www.middletonbooks.com)
Insight Editions (www.insighteditions.com)
Broccoli Press (www.broccolipress.com)

International Publishers:
Language World (www.lwbooks.co.kr/)
Visang (www.visang.com)

Classroom Instructional Content:
WIN Learning (www.winlearning.com)
Social Studies School Service (www.socialstudies.com)

Reading Passage Banks:
NWEA (www.NWEA.org)
ReadWorks (www.readworks.org)


Lexile measures evaluate how complex a text will likely be for a reader to comprehend so that the reader can be matched with texts that best complement his or her unique ability level and reading goals. Content receives a Lexile measure when MetaMetrics analyzes the complete text using proprietary software that evaluates its various dimensions. Lexile measures evaluate how complex a text will likely be for a reader to comprehend so that the reader can be matched with texts that best complement his or her unique ability level and reading goals. Lexile measures range from below 200L, for beginning-reader text, to above 1600L, for more advanced text.

"We are thrilled to have a record number of publishers partner with us this quarter," states Malbert Smith III, Ph.D, President and Co-founder of MetaMetrics. "It is great to see not only book publishers, but also classroom instructional content publishers, reading passage banks publishers, and other divisions of the publishing industry utilize the Lexile Framework. Our new and existing partners constitute a driving force across the world to educate our youth as they deliver Lexile measures for their resources to foster reading growth and help achieve college and career readiness."

The Lexile Framework is a unique tool for accurately matching readers with text. Unlike other measurement systems, the Lexile Framework evaluates reading ability and growth based on actual assessment results, rather than generalized age or grade levels. Lexile measures help teachers, librarians and parents find books, articles and other resources within a reader's recommended Lexile range: 100L below to 50L above his or her Lexile measure. Reading materials within this optimal Lexile range will challenge the individual's reading ability, while still maintaining interest and learning.

Recognized globally as the most widely used reading metric, tens of millions of Lexile measures are reported annually from reading assessments and programs. For more information, visit www.Lexile.com.

For more information on the Lexile text measurement process, contact Emily Weller, Strategic Partnerships Manager, at eweller@Lexile.com or 919-547-3452.

About MetaMetrics

MetaMetrics is focused on improving education for learners of all ages and ability levels. The organization develops scientific measures of academic achievement and complementary technologies that link assessment results with real-world instruction. MetaMetrics' products and services for reading (The Lexile® Framework for Reading, El Sistema Lexile para Leer), mathematics (The Quantile® Framework for Mathematics), and writing (The Lexile Framework for Writing) provide unique insights about academic ability and the potential for growth, enabling individuals to achieve their goals at every stage of development. Connect with the organization at: http://blog.lexile.com.